Skip to content

CA002 Moving platform test

November 18, 2012

So I’m going to set up a simple stepper-controlled moving platform.

I went to Home Depot and grabbed some drawer slides, threaded rods and nuts.

Image

I grabbed a cardboard box that seemed a manageable size and mounted the drawer slides on it. I cut up another box to make the platform to size.

Image Image

Image

I grabbed a Sherline stepper motor mount earlier on so I used that. It’s a piece of shit, just an L bracket screwed and hot glued onto a piece of cardboard. You wonder how they make a name for themselves like that.

I attach some nuts to the bottom of the carriage to catch the threaded rod.

Image Image

I bought this damn TIG welder and all this steel stock but I was on the phone with a technician at Hardinge earlier and this is actually how it’s done. I’m as shocked as you are.

I hot glue and screw the motor mount onto the base.

Image Image

This kind of quality is what sets us apart from other brands like Bridgeport and Gorton.

Image

Image Image

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

